WVSOM Scholarships


Touch the Future of Health Care
Our goal at the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine Foundation is to grow an endowment large enough to provide financial assistance to every WVSOM student. This will help us ensure that our school continues to be a leader of excellence in medical education.

WVSOM Legacy Scholarship Endowment Fund

Legacy Icon

Launched in 2018, our Legacy Scholarship fund is our primary donation effort designed to help us achieve our goal of providing every student with some level of financial support. Learn more about the impact you can make by giving to this important fund here.

Named Scholarships

This scholarship fund is part of the West Virginia Emulation Endowment Trust. The Trust was created in 1969 by the Foundation and consists of 15 separate scholarship funds that provide need-based scholarship support at various colleges and universities. Each scholarship fund is named after someone their board felt we should all try to emulate -hence the name "Emulation" Endowment Trust. The WVSOM scholarship fund was established in 2016 and named after Dr. Olen E. Jones, Jr. As many of you know, Dr. Jones served as the President of the West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine from 1987 until 2009 and is credited with guiding the institution to unprecedented success.